Donald Trump announces the closing of the U.s. border with Canada by the coronavirus

The president of the united States, Donald Trump, announced that the border between u.s. territory and Canada will be closed to all traffic that is not essential for the coronavirus.

The leader announced the news on Wednesday via his Twitter account, where he explained the details on the movement of persons will be announced later.

“Under mutual consent, we will close our northern border with Canada to the traffic that is not essential. The trade will not be affected. I later will give details!”, wrote the representative.

It is also a measure of protection for the border agents, that are willing to risk the contagion having to process the step of thousands of people a day.

In this sense, as explained by USA Today, the workers of the Bureau of Customs and Border Protection of the united States (CBP, for its acronym in English) have been permitted to use personal protective equipment, such as masks.

On Monday, the canadian prime minister, Justin Trudeau, they also reported that the closure of their borders to persons who are not canadian or residents of the country.

As in the case of the united States, the decision came motivated to contain the spread of the Covid-19.

“We have been working closely with the united States, coordinating a number of measures. The level of integration of the two countries is very particular,” he said.

Canada has also decided that all international flights that arrived in the country had to land only in four designated airports: Montreal, Toronto, Calgary and Vancouver, where the passengers would be examined to determine if they are positive to the virus.

The u.s. administration already announced that it was suspending travel to their country from 26 european countries. This measure affects the 26 countries in the area of free movement of the Schengen Area. That is to say Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The decision was rejected by the presidents of the European Commission (EC), Ursula von der Leyen, and of the European Council, Charles Michel, those who defended that it was “carrying out strong actions to limit the spread of the virus”.

“The European Union disapproves of the fact that the decision of the united States to impose a travel ban was taken unilaterally and without consultation”, noted in a press release.