Palmeiras arrives in Montevideo for the Libertadores grand final against Flamengo

Palmeira’s delegation arrives in Montevideo at 6 pm (GMT), goes straight to the hotel and starts specific preparations for Saturday’s decision, against Flamengo, at the Centenário Stadium

Attention, Montevideo: the defending champion is in the area! The Palmeiras delegation arrived early this Wednesday (24th) night in the Uruguayan capital, host of the final of the Libertadores against the Flamengo, Saturday (27), at Estádio Centenário, with Live broadcast of FOX Sports and for ESPN on Star+.

There was a slight delay in the arrival of Alviverde, which was scheduled for just before 6pm. The delegation, however, took more than 40 minutes over the allotted time, besides the transfer to the hotel, in the central region of the city.

The fans who were waiting for the Palmeiras people in front of the hotel did not pay attention to the delay. Around 20 fanatics welcomed the cast and coach Abel Ferreira. A bandeirão dared to give a more festive rhythm to the club’s arrival.

Palmeiras also embarked with a lot of cheering from the fans in São Paulo and are now starting to prepare for the grand final, in which they will try to keep the continental title. O summer is the current champion, after beating Santos, in the 2020 decision, at Maracanã.

According to the club’s schedule, there will be two training sessions in Uruguay, on Thursday (25th) and Friday (26th), when the club will also recognize the Centenário lawn. Before stepping onto the stage of the game, Abel Ferreira and another Palestinian player will give an official press conference, the only pre-match in the country.

It’s hard to find out what Verdão’s lineup will be for the final, but the trend is that Abel calls the team to Saturday with: Weverton; Mayke, Gustavo Gómez, Luan and Piquerez; Felipe Melo (Danilo), Zé Rafael, Raphael Veiga and Gustavo Scarpa; Dudu and Ron.

Palmeiras will play their sixth Libertadores final in history. Vice in 1961, 1968 and 2000, the team will seek third title, after conquests in 1999 and 2020. If they win, they will join São Paulo, Grêmio and Santos, the only three-time champions among Brazilians.